Not Godly

I am not a godly person.

I do not lead a godly life. Whatever that might be.

I do not trust people who claim to lead godly lives. Something always seems missing in their souls. They are, too often, cold and callous and cruel and condemning.

I do not trust people who call on others to lead godly lives. I do not know what they mean, except that godly always seems to include something I am not or cannot do or be.

I am not a godly person.

I am a sinner.

I live a sinner’s life.

I am redeemed. Jesus has redeemed me.

I live a redeemed sinner’s life.

Jesus met me at the well, told me who I was, healed my wounds, told me my sins were forgiven.

He found me in the marketplace, and said, “follow me.”

And I followed.

I am a sinner. I live a redeemed life. I follow Jesus because he called me.

I tell others about Jesus. That he knows them, and forgives them, too.

I have touched his wounds. And he has touched mine. He has made me whole, even as I still bear my wounds. He raised me. He lives in me.

I am not a godly person. I do not lead a godly life. I do not know what a godly life is. I’m not sure I want to know.

I am a sinner.

But I am forgiven.

I am forgiven.

One thought on “Not Godly

Leave a Reply

